Key Concepts in the Practice of Sufism-1

Key Concepts in the Practice of Sufism-1This book is the second volume of the Emerald Hills of the Heart series, which brings out a comprehensive and unique examination of concepts and terms associated with sufism in Islam. In this volume, Gulen looks at fifty different concepts. With an introduction on the heart and some of its dynamics, this work is a rich addition with more gates into spirituality. Concepts examined include freedom, altruism, wisdom, sainthood, intoxication and sobriety, wakefullness and the universal man..This book is a comprehensive study of concepts and terms associated with Sufi traditions of Islam. Gulen's informative analysis of Sufi ideas is a must read for those who seek a understanding of the dynamics of sufism. For Gulen, sufism is a form of self-purification leading to inner dimension of Islamic rituals, a deeper understanding of the divine acts, and a greater knowledge and love of the Divine. The continual process of spiritual development in sufism along a path of the innate human poverty, helplessnes, and powerlessnes before God is undertaken in the knowledge that everything come from God. The first volume of the Emerald Hills of the Heart presents such sufi concepts like repnetance, reflection, self-criticism, asceticism, piety, abstinence, self-supervision and sincerity.

Display #
Title Author
What Is Sufism? Fethullah Gülen
The Origin of Sufism Fethullah Gülen
Sofi Fethullah Gülen
Tawba (Repentance), Inaba (Sincere Penitence), and Awba (Turning to God in Contrition) Fethullah Gülen
Muhasaba (Self-Criticism or Self-Interrogation) Fethullah Gülen
Tafakkur (Reflection) Fethullah Gülen
Firar and I'tisam (Fleeing and Taking Shelter) Fethullah Gülen
Halwat and 'Uzlat (Privacy and Seclusion) Fethullah Gülen
Hal and Maqam (State and Station) Fethullah Gülen
Qalb (Heart) - 1 Fethullah Gülen
Qalb (Heart) - 2 Fethullah Gülen
Huzn (Sadness or Sorrow) Fethullah Gülen
Khawf and Khashya (Fear and Reverence) Fethullah Gülen
Raja (Hope or Expectation) Fethullah Gülen
Zuhd (Asceticism) Fethullah Gülen
Taqwa (Piety) Fethullah Gülen
Wara' (Abstinence) Fethullah Gülen
Ibada, Ubudiya, and Ubuda (Worship, Servanthood, and Deep Devotion) Fethullah Gülen
Muraqaba (Self-Supervision) Fethullah Gülen
Ikhlas (Sincerity or Purity of Intention) Fethullah Gülen
Istiqama (Straightforwardness) Fethullah Gülen
Tawakkul, Taslim, Tafwiz, and Thiqa (Reliance, Surrender, Commitment, and Confidence) Fethullah Gülen
Khuluq (Good Nature) Fethullah Gülen
Tawadu (Humility) Fethullah Gülen
Sidq (Truthfulness) Fethullah Gülen